Responsive Representation

Restoring Hope

Attorneys Dedicated To Calming The Crisis
  1. Home
  2.  → 
  3. Child Custody
  4.  → Will I automatically lose my license after my first DUI?

Will I automatically lose my license after my first DUI?

by | Nov 12, 2018 | Child Custody, Criminal Law, DUI, Family Law, Uncategorized |

You left a bar after a night out with colleagues, and you decided to drive after drinking. Unfortunately, you committed an insignificant traffic violation, and an officer pulled you over on a DUI suspicion. After breathalyzing, you are charged and arrested for a DUI.

Driving under the influence of alcohol constitutes a serious offense in many states. In Pennsylvania, the severity of your intoxication and the circumstances of your DUI charge may determine the level of punishments given to you by a criminal law judge. It proves essential to speak with an attarney if facing a DUI charge, as defense attarneys’ experience may provide you with the expertise in defense in avoiding more serious penalties.

Your penalties depend on the severity of your intoxication

In Pennsylvania, punishments for your DUI charge depend significantly on your level of intoxication. Because you only had a few drinks, you blew less than .10%, so you fall under the General Impairment penalties. If convicted, you may receive:

  • An ungraded misdemeanor
  • Up to 6 months in prison
  • A $300 fine
  • Alcohol highway safety school
  • Treatment if necessary

Other factors including whether you injured another driver or pedestrian, refused to breathalyze or damaged personal property all may play a role in your exact charges.

Your license is not likely to be suspended after your first DUI if you blow less than .10% and did not commit any other crime.

Higher intoxication, more serious convictions

However, upon your first DUI charge, if your BAC level reads higher than .10% but lower than .16%, a judge may subject you to:

  • An ungraded misdemeanor
  • 12-month license suspension
  • Minimum of 48 hours to 6 months in prison
  • A $500 to $5,000 dine
  • Alcohol highway safety school
  • Treatment if necessary

Avoiding drinking and driving saves lives, but if you choose to drink, it proves wise to immediately discuss your situation with an experienced attarney if caught. attarneys understand the varying elements that may help in your defense and could help you lessen your charges or avoid conviction altogether.



FindLaw Network