Depending on circumstances, you may have to install an ignition interlock device on your car following a conviction for driving under the influence, even if it is your first such offense. While not all first-time DUI offenders in Pennsylvania must install and use the device, many do. If you are a repeat-DUI offender, installing and using the device for a period is mandatory.
According to the Pennsylvania Department of Motor Vehicles, an ignition interlock device is something you install on your vehicle that prevents it from starting until you provide an alcohol-free breath sample.
Whether you must install the device for a first drunk driving offense depends on the results of your breath test. If your blood-alcohol content was high enough, plan on having to install one.
Who must install the device
While repeat offenders and first-time offenders with high blood-alcohol contents must install ignition interlock devices, you may also have to do so if you refuse a chemical test at the time of your arrest. If you received orders in the past to drive a vehicle equipped with the device and authorities catch you driving a different vehicle, this, too, may lead to additional device requirements and terms.
What you must pay for the device
When you have to install an ignition interlock device on your car, you are responsible for paying for it. In addition to fees associated with installing the device, you may also have to pay to lease and have your provider monitor it periodically to ensure it is working as intended. Current estimates suggest that your annual costs of leasing the device are going to fall somewhere between about $900 and $1,300.
Find more about drunk driving penalties on our webpage.